en Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure) - Just Plain Folks Music Organization Message Boards
leftleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftbyleftalt-1 alvt">
The Seeds Would Grow
by beechnut79. 09/08/21 12:14 PM
The Winner
by beechnut79. 09/08/21 12:14 PM
Envious Heart
by beechnut79. 09/08/21 12:10 PM
The Voyager
by Gerry. 09/08/21 07:05 AM
"Not Just A Melody.".
by JAPOV. 09/07/21 09:51 PM
This old dog
by beechnut79. 09/07/21 10:54 AM
How Fast Are You Going (When You're Standing Still
by beechnut79. 09/07/21 10:40 AM
Lazing in the Sun
by beechnut79. 09/07/21 10:35 AM
"I Need A Cadillac....Jack!"
by beechnut79. 09/07/21 10:33 AM
Pedal & Synth Expo Oct.2-3, 2021 Free, Outdoors
by Gary E. Andrews. 09/06/21 02:24 PM
Resource List (In Progress)
by Brian Austin Whitney. 09/06/21 12:40 AM
Blending Political Discourse, Conspiracy Theories,
by WilliamMahler. 09/05/21 09:49 PM
Eco-Heroes Contest, Artists, Lower Emissions
by Gary E. Andrews. 09/05/21 01:16 PM
"How Songs Get Cut" with Rand Bishop
by Gary E. Andrews. 09/04/21 08:54 PM
Rivers of Destiny
by Bill Draper. 09/04/21 07:59 PM
my recording set up
by Bill Draper. 09/04/21 06:00 PM
They Live On
by rpirone. 09/04/21 05:51 PM
leftTop Posters(All Time)left
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#486530 - 03/26/07 10:44 PM Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure)  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Ryan Russell Offline
Casual Observer
Ryan Russell  Offline
Casual Observer

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Indiana, United States
I'm alittle new to the computer recording game. For the last year I have been recording to a multitrack, burning backups as .wav, and then copying to the computer for editing, mixing, mastering. I would like to take the leap into going straight to computer hard drive. I've just ordered a new computer to be dedicated to music production only.A few specs are: (PC) intel core 2 duo E6300 1.86GHz, 1 gig ram, 160 gig 7200- 8mb cache system,project- 320GB 7200-16mb cache, 2 firewire ports, windows xp sp2,1066 fsb,Asus P5L-VM mobo. Anyway, I have a fairly good grasp of some things, but the ridicoulous question is this:
with a firewire interface (presonus firepod) can I record multiple tracks (at least 8) simultaneously, and have each of those tracks assigned to their own track in my recording software. All this through the firewire cable, or do I need a sound card with those capabilities? By the way, I'm using Adobe Audition 2. Any help is welcome, and appreciated. I'm new here so, hello!

#486539 - 03/26/07 11:23 PM Re: Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure) [Re: Ryan Russell]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,822
Larry Williams Offline
Larry Williams  Offline


Serious Contributor

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,822
Santa Clarita, CA USA
In a word, yes.

The Firepod isn't just a preamp with 8 mic inputs and line-level outputs. It includes the converters to enable it to appear in most audio software as 8 separate inputs via Firewire. You can assign those inputs to individual tracks. That's kind of the whole idea of having a Firewire interface. You can even run multiple Firepods if you need more than 8 inputs by daisy-chaining them.

Now whether Adobe Audition will recognize it is another question (it will probably be fine, though). However, the Firepod comes with Cubase LE in case you run into problems with the Adobe software.


#486559 - 03/27/07 12:52 AM Re: Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure) [Re: Larry Williams]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Ryan Russell Offline
Casual Observer
Ryan Russell  Offline
Casual Observer

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Indiana, United States
do I need a midi controller to enable any of this? And, thanks for the reply.

#487484 - 03/29/07 02:21 PM Re: Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure) [Re: Ryan Russell]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
Larry Read Offline
Serious Contributor
Larry Read  Offline
Serious Contributor

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 96
North County,San Diego,Ca
In a word ...No... a Midi controller is only needed if you are keyboardist and wish to record sequences keyboard via midi..
the setup your talking about only requires a firewire and the correct software. The Firepod as the other LArry said comes with Cubase LE.. I use Cubase and like it alot just in case as he also said you run into problems with adobe.


your only a stranger once after that a new found friend
http://cdbaby.com/cd/larryread
http://www.LarryReadsMusic.com
Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist/Audio Engineer BMI &
Audio Engineering Society Member
#487680 - 03/29/07 10:31 PM Re: Another FirewireQuestion (I'm Sure) [Re: Larry Read]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Ryan Russell Offline
Casual Observer
Ryan Russell  Offline
Casual Observer

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Indiana, United States
thanks very much. Now, to save the money..........

/forum/forumhttps%3A%2F%2Fwww.jpfolks.com%2Fforum%2Fubbthreads.php%2Ftopics%2F487484%2Fre-another-firewirequestion-im-sure.html
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0