JPF Home Page
Posted By: inspire5758 Recording Software For Beginner - 12/04/06 03:18 PM
Hi. I'm trying to figure which of these programs to get for an absolute beginner. My goal is to try to work online doing demos for songwriters. I just downloaded Audacity. Also, I'm not sure why microphone works best for a computer. Any ideas? Thanks.

Alice
Posted By: Jody Whitesides Re: Recording Software For Beginner - 12/04/06 08:55 PM
Garageband by Apple. You'd need a Mac, but that's about as cool as beginner software can get.

Jody

------------------
Music That Makes Your Soul Happy!
www.jodywhitesides.com
Posted By: bailey bridges Re: Recording Software For Beginner - 12/04/06 09:30 PM
I don't have an Mac so I'm learning to use a Cakewalk software. Presently I'm looking for the right mic.

There's a lot I still need to learn but I've learned to record my voice, add other tracks to my vocal (inadequate mic at present), transform the files into an mp3 and burn to CD. I don't remember the exact name of the program at the moment but will look it up if you don't own an Mac computer or plan to get one.

I remember going thorugh all it took me to get that far. It really wasn't too bad though. Didn't take me that long to learn since I'm a determined sort when I decide to be [Linked Image]

All the best,

Vanessa

[This message has been edited by royaldghtr (edited 12-04-2006).]
Posted By: Larry Williams Re: Recording Software For Beginner - 12/05/06 03:02 AM
See my post about the new Protools for small studios.

You can use many types of mics for recording. You'll have to be more specific on your budget and what you're trying to record.

Audacity is a nice little program, but only works with stereo files (2 tracks). You'll need a multi-track system that can record and play back more than 2 tracks.

[This message has been edited by Lwilliam (edited 12-04-2006).]
Posted By: David Guy Re: Recording Software For Beginner - 12/05/06 06:26 AM