JPF Home Page
Posted By: NicholasSpoonerRodie Over the Hill - 11/21/15 06:38 AM
Hey guys,
This is a song I recorded a while back but never posted. Let me know what you think!

Over The Hill

Lyrics
Its a little warmer over the hill
Not many traveler come our
But its all so lonely here
Like I know they say

Night here are darker under our sky
But the stars shine all night
and I know
I know its not for everyone

Its a simple song but means a lot to me. Please feel free to hit me up with suggestions, as I'm still very new to songwritting.

Thank you
Posted By: Colin Ward Re: Over the Hill - 11/21/15 03:08 PM
A nice ambient piece. Needless to say the lyrics are lost in reverb so if you want them to be understood, you need to lose most of the reverb and bring the vox up, but that may not be what you want.
Posted By: NicholasSpoonerRodie Re: Over the Hill - 11/21/15 04:10 PM
Thanks Collin, I'd like to record the vocals again so I'll try bringing them up in the mix.
Posted By: Jimmy Fleming Re: Over the Hill - 11/21/15 11:22 PM
Nicely written and performed song ... I can't make suggestions on the recording process because I'm still very much a novice ... keep up the good work!!
Posted By: NicholasSpoonerRodie Re: Over the Hill - 11/22/15 01:27 AM
Thank you very much!
Posted By: Dave Rice (D) Re: Over the Hill - 11/27/15 08:27 PM
Welcome to JPF, Nick:

It is a beautiful ambient melody and works well on it's own merits. Maybe a flute or other wind instrument here and there to liven it up. On the other hand... if it's going to be a song, Colin said it best. Good luck with this and your musical endeavors. ----Dave
Posted By: NicholasSpoonerRodie Re: Over the Hill - 11/29/15 08:22 AM
Thank you dave, I like your idea of livening it up!
Posted By: Michael Zaneski Re: Over the Hill - 11/29/15 10:30 PM
Hi Nick,