JPF Home Page
Posted By: iggypop How Do I Move My Catalogue? - 05/03/06 09:07 PM
Hey all you mentor types! I'm a newbie here. So here's da poop...

I run a record label (Big Yellow Hand Records) and publishing company (Wretched Wombat Publishing, ASCAP) from my home in Chicago. I have a huge catalogue of original high quality electronic music, and at the rate I am churning out new stuff, it is getting bigger every week.

I already have albums for sale all over the internet (iTunes, napster, yahoo music, virgin digital, audio lunchbox, msn, rhapsody, musicmatch, etc.) under the industrial band name Steaming Dookies (I know, a crappy joke name that kinda stuck) and a deal for a single that is expected to break into the worldwide club scene this year, but I am looking to make extra dough on the stock music and wallpaper applications that I am missing out on. Nearly every other commercial features similar music, especially car companies. And the CSI TV franchise.

I have a friend who has an agent that gets his songs placed all over TV, wallpaper for theme parks, radio ads, a piece with Tom Cruise on ABC, etc. and he already has more money than he knows what to do with (his day job is lead surgeon at a noted hospital in Wisconsin).

So, my question is, how do I get management and representation without already being financially successful? I am also represented in a limited non-exclusive arrangement with a label out of Nashville that offers little in the way of artist management.

I have tried placing with music houses, but I fear my tunes would be shelved and just sit there, tying up my copyrights, inactive while collecting no revenue.

I will be joining TAXI this summer, so maybe that will help.

Anyway, thanks for your help and support,

Tha iggster....
Posted By: Jody Whitesides Re: How Do I Move My Catalogue? - 05/03/06 11:32 PM