Western Mass JPFolks News # 17

CONTENTS:
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE
2. JPF LYRIC AWARDS
3. WRITE A NEW SONG
4. WESTERN MASS SONG CIRCLE
5. OTHER STUFF
6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB

---------------------------------------------------------
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE

Happy Spring!

We haven’t been real active as a group this past year. Lets see if we can do something to turn that around.

Three things to do before summer kicks in and we put it off until fall:
Enter the lyrics contest.
Write a new song.
Come show us your stuff in a song circle.

See below for details.

Marty
Western Mass Chapter Coordinator
Just Plain Folks
www.jpfolks.com

2. THE JPF LYRIC AWARDS

http://www.justplainfolks.org/ubb/Forum59/HTML/000021.html

That link will explain everything. But just so you know what you’re getting into - Just Plain Folks has a lyrics only award to go along with its Songwriting Awards. The entry deadline has long since passed on the recorded music, but the lyric entry deadline is May 31st. All you have to do is follow the instructions on the board and post your lyric as a reply to participate.

Richard Berman was a finalist in this category in 2004 and Shandy Lawson a finalist in 2002. I’d like to see us represented on the podium again, and I’d love to see a winner from our area. So get your best song lyric entered. It doesn’t have to have been written this year, just not submitted in the 2002 or 2004 awards.


3. WRITE A NEW SONG

Sometimes it just takes a challenge to get folks to get creative. So here’s your challenge – write a song about Summer. Baseball, hot dogs, trips to the beach, golf, sunburn, carefree romance. Finish it by June 1st and post it on the Just Plain Folks Western Mass page at Soundclick. http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pageartist.cfm?bandID=205027
When you’re ready to post it – e-me and I’ll get you the correct username and password.

After you’re done you can listen to what everyone else comes up with.


4. COME TO A WESTERN MASS SONG CIRCLE

Tuesday, June 6th, 7:00 PM at Bishops Lounge, 41 Strong Avenue, Northampton. I’ll even buy a beer for those folks who post a song on the Soundclick page ahead of time and come out. We can sit around and trade songs from 7 to 9. Then JPF members Linq (9:00) and Lisa Lawrence (10:00) are featured performers on the normal TuSeday Songwriter Series.


5. OTHER STUFF

Steve Sanderson and Mark Schwaber have set up a 2nd Wednesday Songwriter series at the Apollo Grill in Easthampton. I’ll be there on May 10th.

Lisa Martin has started an open mic at Udderly Delicious 273 Main St Oxford, MA every Wednesday from 7:00pm - 9:00pm.

Nancy and John from Cosmic Moxa have started a new open mic at Our Place Pub in Gardner on Thursday Nights – 8:30 to 12:30.


6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB

First check out the JPF Western Massachusetts Chapter page on Soundclick: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pageartist.cfm?bandID=205027
Then go to the Chapter forum at JPFolks: http://www.justplainfolks.org/cgi-b...n+MA+Chapter+Message+Board&number=62

Marty Helly http://www.martyhelly.com
Lisa Martin http://www.lisa-martin.com
Tom Neilson http://tomneilsonmusic.com
Diane Lincoln http://www.linqmusic.com
Andrea Lafazia http://www.andrealafazia.com
Robin O'Herin http://www.robinoherin.com
Jeb Barry http://www.jebbarry.com
Kirk Creswell http://artists.iuma.com/IUMA/Bands/Resurrection_Airmen/
Janet Ryan & Ray Chaput http://www.janetryan.com
Arjuna Greist http://www.ArjunaGreist.com
Guy-Michael Grande http://www.guy-michael.com
Peter Schindelman http://www.soundclick.com/bands/4/peterschindelman.htm
Sparkie Allison http://www.valinet.com/~sparkie
Shandy Lawson http://www.shandylawson.com
Catherine Orland http://www.catherineorland.com
Jen Tobey's Alter Ego http://www.jentobs.com
Richard Berman http://www.richardberman.net/

So now I’m wondering who among this group are on MySpace …
Let me know and I’ll post a list of folks when I get around to it!


=============================
REMOVAL: Anyone wishing to discontinue their newsletter subscription, please let me know and you will be removed from the newsletter list.



------------------
Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you
recognize a mistake when you make it again!


Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again!