Western Mass JPFolks News # 16

CONTENTS:
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE
2. TOYS FOR TOTS
3. JPF 2005-2006 AWARDS
4. WRSI SONGWRITER AWARDS
5. FALL AND WINTER PLANS
6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB

---------------------------------------------------------
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE

Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanks to Linq, Jeb Barry, and Michael P. O'Neill for joining me to fill the Apollo Grill with tunes back in October.

These last two months I’ve been helping the folks at WRSI run their annual songwriters contest. More than a few Western Mass Just Plain Folks participated. And there are a lot of folks who participated who aren’t in JPF. We’ll have to work on that.

No November Meeting – and Spakie wanted me to let folks know there’s no meeting of the Mass Songwriters this month either.

Two chances to get together in December for Holiday Fun – see below.

Marty
Western Mass Chapter Coordinator
Just Plain Folks
www.jpfolks.com

2. TOYS FOR TOTS

We had so much fun last year we’re going to do it again.

Arjuna Greist, Sparkie Allison, Janet Ryan and Ray Chaput, Lisa Martin and Brad Willard, Michael O’Neill and Jeb Barry are all already on the list of performers. Anyone else interested let me know.

Its at The Elevens, 140 Pleasant Street, Northampton on Decmber 4th. We’ll start at 7:00. There will be no cover charge, but folks are encouraged to bring a new unwrapped toy for donation to Toys for Tots. Each artist will do three or four tunes – Holiday classics encouraged and original winter tunes definitely desired!


3. 2006 JPF SONGWRITER AWARDS

For your current stuff, you have until the end of the year – but don’t procrastinate, get it done!

Full details are here http://www.justplainfolks.org/ubb/Forum61/HTML/000081.html if you haven’t been keeping the e-mail Brian sends out.

Our show in Easthampton this summer had more award winners in any room other than at the actual award ceremony out in LA last spring! There’s enough talent around here to do it again.


4. 2005 WRSI SONGWRITER AWARDS

The nominee performances featured 3 folks a night for 7 weeks. JPF’ers Jen Tobey, Rebecca Hall and Arjuna Greist were among the nominees. If you didn’t submit a disc this year, be sure to think about it next August and September. Your music definitely gets listened to and considered by the folks at the radio station and the nominees get air play and showcase exposure. This year the winner will walk away with a Peavey PA system from Falcetti Music, a new Martin guitar from Fretted Instrument Workshop, and recording time at Signature Sounds.

Contestants must be from the WRSI listening area, but most of our chapter members have no problem meeting that criteria.

Five Finalists will perform again on 11/23 (the night before Thanksgiving.) the winner will be announced on the air on Monday, November 28th.


5. WINTER PLANS

Set aside January 26th for a songwriting workshop. The task is to write an upbeat song about winter. I’ll time and location next month.

I’m still looking to get our “Press Kit” workshop back on line for early in the New Year. Right now my target date is January 10th so we can all get a positive start on those “Do It Right” resolutions next year!


6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB

First check out the JPF Western Massachusetts Chapter page on Soundclick: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pageartist.cfm?bandID=205027
Then go to the Chapter forum at JPFolks: http://www.justplainfolks.org/cgi-b...n+MA+Chapter+Message+Board&number=62

Marty Helly http://www.martyhelly.com
Lisa Martin http://www.lisa-martin.com
Tom Neilson http://tomneilsonmusic.com
Diane Lincoln http://www.linqmusic.com
Andrea Lafazia http://www.andrealafazia.com
Robin O'Herin http://www.robinoherin.com
Jeb Barry http://www.jebbarry.com
Kirk Creswell http://artists.iuma.com/IUMA/Bands/Resurrection_Airmen/
Janet Ryan & Ray Chaput http://www.janetryan.com
Arjuna Greist http://www.ArjunaGreist.com
Guy-Michael Grande http://www.guy-michael.com
Peter Schindelman http://www.soundclick.com/bands/4/peterschindelman.htm
Sparkie Allison http://www.valinet.com/~sparkie
Shandy Lawson http://www.shandylawson.com
Catherine Orland http://www.catherineorland.com
Jen Tobey's Alter Ego http://www.jentobs.com
Richard Berman http://www.richardberman.net/

=============================
REMOVAL: Anyone wishing to discontinue their newsletter subscription, please let me know and you will be removed from the newsletter list.


------------------
Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you
recognize a mistake when you make it again!

[This message has been edited by Marty Helly (edited 11-18-2005).]


Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again!