Western Mass JPFolks News # 15
CONTENTS:
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE
2. CHAPTER SHOWCASE
3. JPF 2005-2006 AWARDS
4. WRSI SONGWRITER AWARDS
5. FALL AND WINTER PLANS
6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB

---------------------------------------------------------
1. COORDINATOR’S MESSAGE

Where did summer go? For that matter, what about September?

Anyway, for those of you who missed it, there was a great party at Lisa’s back in August. After a full afternoon of food and music, the skies opened up and we had an indoor song circle until too late in the evening. Good people, good music, good wine – what more can you ask for?

So fall is here - time to get (semi)serious again. Sorry about the lack of a September meeting but I got all wrapped up in managing Fall baseball for a bunch of 12-13 year old kids and that takes up most of my “free” time four days per week. Details October and upcoming months is enclosed. Read on.

Marty
Western Mass Chapter Coordinator
Just Plain Folks
www.jpfolks.com

2. WESTERN MASS CHAPTER SHOWCASE – THURSDAY, OCTOBER 13th

The Apollo Grill has offered to host us again since everyone had a blast at the roadtrip back in June. I’m also confident the room won’t be quite so hot and humid, but hopefully we can keep the performances just as cooking. Brian won’t be here but no reason the rest of us can’t make it a JPF musical extravaganza. Anyone who’s interested, please let me know asap. There were 28 acts back in June so even if we have only half of that we can still have an amazing night of sharing music.

We’ll get started at 7:00 pm and finish up around 9:30. Please RSVP by the 6th.

For those who were there back in June (and those who weren’t), Jeb took some pics that he posted here: http://www.jebbarry.com/Just%20Plain%20Folks%202004%20Easthampton.html
There are also the pics that Brian took posted here: http://www.jpfolks.com/Roadtrips/EC2005/Easthampton/index.html


3. 2005-2006 JUST PLAIN FOLKS MUSIC AWARDS

TODAY is the deadline for submitting any music recorded/released before 2005. So if you’ve got some older music that you always meant to submit, drop what you’re doing and send it in to Just Plain Folks NOW!

For your current stuff, you have until the end of the year – but don’t procrastinate, get it done!

Full details are here http://www.justplainfolks.org/ubb/Forum61/HTML/000081.html if you haven’t been keeping the e-mail Brian sends out.

Our show in Easthampton had more award winners in any room other than at the actual award ceremony out in LA last spring! There’s enough talent around here to do it again.

4. 2005 WRSI SONGWRITER AWARDS

The performances start at Bishop’s Lounge this coming Tuesday, but you can still enter to be considered for this year’s competition. Three artists are selected to perform each week from 10/4 through 11/15 – or 21 nominees. The nominees will be given a half hour slot in a showcase at Bishops Lounge MC’d by one of the WRSI DJ’s. Shows will start at 7:00 and end at 9:00. (Our normal TuSeday Singer/Songwriter night will follow immediately after.)

Four Finalists will perform again on 11/23 (the night before Thanksgiving.)

To be considered in the contest, submit a 2 song CD (or a full CD with the 2 tracks you would like considered clearly marked) to:
WRSI
Attn: Singer/Songwriter Contest
PO Box 268
Northampton MA 01061

Make sure your contact information (name, e-mail, phone number) is on the CD!

Contestants must be from the WRSI listening area.

All songs must be originals – written by the contestant. Submitted songs do not necessarily have to have been written this year. If you are a prior nominee, please do not re-submit the same songs that were submitted in past years.

All of the songs performed in the showcase must be written by the contestant. Performances must be “unplugged” type, solo preferred but duo performances will be permitted. Full band arrangements will not be permitted.

Getting your submission in early will give you more chances for the On-Air staff to listen to your tracks and possibly even get you some airplay – so get them in ASAP.

The grand prize winner this year will receive a new acoustic guitar, recording time from Signature Sounds, and a Peavey Escort portable sound system: a complete PA with speakers, mixer, amp, microphone, stands, and more from Falcetti Music, Boston Road, Springfield.

Good luck everyone!


5. FALL AND WINTER PLANS

Set aside November 17th for a songwriting workshop. I’ll post an exercise for us to go after and time and location later this month.

We’ll repeat the Toys for Tots Benefit in the beginning of December. Details being worked out on this as well.

I’m also looking to get our “Press Kit” workshop back on line for early in the New Year. Maybe in January so we can all get a positive start on those “Do It Right” resolutions next year!


6. WESTERN MASS FOLKS ON THE WEB
(and some showcase participants)

First check out the JPF Western Massachusetts Chapter page on Soundclick: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pageartist.cfm?bandID=205027
Then go to the Chapter forum at JPFolks: http://www.justplainfolks.org/cgi-b...n+MA+Chapter+Message+Board&number=62

Marty Helly http://www.martyhelly.com
Lisa Martin http://www.lisa-martin.com
Tom Neilson http://tomneilsonmusic.com
Diane Lincoln http://www.linqmusic.com
Amy England http://www.amyengland.net
Andrea Lafazia http://www.andrealafazia.com
Robin O'Herin http://www.robinoherin.com
Jeb Barry http://www.jebbarry.com
Kirk Creswell http://artists.iuma.com/IUMA/Bands/Resurrection_Airmen/
Janet Ryan & Ray Chaput http://www.janetryan.com
Arjuna Greist http://www.ArjunaGreist.com
Guy-Michael Grande http://www.guy-michael.com
Peter Schindelman http://www.soundclick.com/bands/4/peterschindelman.htm
Sparkie Allison http://www.valinet.com/~sparkie
Shandy Lawson http://www.shandylawson.com
Steven Bacon http://www.stevenbacon.com
Charlene Johnson http://www.charlenejohnson.com
Catherine Orland http://www.catherineorland.com
Jen Tobey's Alter Ego http://www.jentobs.com
Patti DeRosa http://www.pattiderosa.com
Richard Berman http://www.richardberman.net/

=============================


------------------
Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you
recognize a mistake when you make it again!


Marty my home

Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again!