PLEASE NOTE: This is NOT an endorsed list of resources. This is the first stage of a work in progress to identify the leading names in each category and then to eventually develop relationships or partnerships with the very best resources or in some cases launch a service to serve our membership directly in cases where we can't find an acceptable resource that we can work with. Exception: The resources that are BOLD are already current JPF Community Partners.

Musician and Songwriter Services/Tools
(Listed in alphabetical order by category and resource names)

Booking Assistance
Canadian Association of Fairs and Exhibitors: http://www.canadian-fairs.ca/
Folk Alliance: http://www.folkalliance.org/
International Entertainment Buyers Association: http://www.ieba.org/news.html
National Association of Campus Activities: http://www.naca.org/
OurStage: http://www.ourstage.com
Sonic Bids: http://www.sonicbids.com

CD Distribution
Amazon: http://advantage.amazon.com/gp/vendor/public/join
CD Baby: http://www.cdbaby.com
Independent Artists Company: http://iacmusic.com

CD/DVD Manufactures
Disc Makers: http://www.discmakers.com
DiskFaktory: http://www.diskfaktory.com
Kunaki: http://www.kunaki.com
Oasis CD Duplication: http://www.oasiscdduplication.com

Composer & Songwriter Associations
Alliance of Canadian Cinema Television and Radio Artists: http://www.actra.ca
Asian Composers League http://asiancomposersleague.com
Association of Independent Music Publishers: http://www.aimp.org
Christian Songwriters: http://christiansongwriters.org
Composers Association of New Zealand http://www.canz.net.nz/
National Association of Composers, USA (NACUSA) http://www.music-usa.org/nacusa
Songwriters Association of Canada: http://www.songwriters.ca/
The Society of Composers and Lyricists: http://www.thescl.com


Copyrights & Legal Resources
Copyright – U.S. Copyright Office: http://www.copyright.gov
Musicians Guide Through The Legal Jungle: http://www.guidethroughthelegaljungleblog.com/
Public Domain Music: http://www.pdinfo.com
Volunteer Lawyers For The Arts: http://www.vlany.org

Digital Distribution
CDBaby: http://cdbaby.com
Distrokid: http://distrokid.com
Orchard (formerly Independent Online Digital Alliance): http://www.theorchard.com
TuneCore: http://www.tunecore.com



Education & Information Resources
Berklee College of Music: http://www.berkleemusic.com/school/courses
Billboard: http://www.billboard.com/bbcom/index.jsp
Columbia University Music & Arts: http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/music/index.html
Harvard Library for music scholars: http://hcl.harvard.edu/research/guides/music/resources/meta.html
Home Recording: http://homerecording.com
Irving S. Gilmore Music Library: http://www.library.yale.edu/musiclib/muslib.htm
Mix Online: http://mixonline.com
Music Biz Academy: http://www.musicbizacademy.com
Muses Muse: http://www.musesmuse.com
SongU: http://www.songu.com
Songwriter101: http://songwriter101.com/about
Sound On Sound: http://www.soundonsound.com
The National Association for Music Education: http://www.menc.org

Entertainment Attorneys
Penn State - The Dickinson School of Law: http://www.dsl.psu.edu/clinic/artsports.cfm

Independent A&R
Independent Artist Registry: http://www.independentartistregistry.com
Taxi: http://www.taxi.com

Internet Radio/Streaming Broadcast
LastFM: http://www.last.fm
Live 365: http://www.live365.com/broadcast
Pandora: http://www.pandora.com

Musical Instruments & Supply Retailers
Folk Of The Wood: http://www.folkofthewood.com
Guitar Center: http://www.guitarcenter.com
Lark In The Morning: http://larkinthemorning.com
McCabe's Guitar Shop: http://www.mccabes.com
Musicians Friend: http://www.musiciansfriend.com
Sam Ash: http://www.samash.com
ZZ Sounds: http://www.zzounds.com

Music Licensing Sites
Harry Fox: http://www.harryfox.com
PumpAudio: http://www.pumpaudio.com
Song Catalog: http://musicnet.songcatalog.com/Info
Versus Media - Placing music in film: http://www.versusmedia.com
You License: http://www.youlicense.com

Music Marketing Resources
Bob Baker: http://www.bob-baker.com
Film Music World: http://www.filmmusicworld.com
Indie Bible: http://www.indiebible.com
Nashville Music Business Directory: http://www.nashvilleconnection.com
Music Marketing: http://musicmarketing.com
Music Phonebook: http://www.musicphonebook.com
Music Publisher’s Association: http://www.mpa.org
Musician's Atlas: http://www.musiciansatlas.com
The Music Business Registry: http://www.musicregistry.com

Music News and Press
Beat Wire: http://www.beatwire.com
Media Futurist Gerd Leonhard: http://www.mediafuturist.com
Music Industry News Network: http://www.mi2n.com
Music Dish: http://musicdish.com
PR Web Press Release Newswire: http://www.prweb.com

Music Organizations
Filmgravity: http://www.filmgravity.com
Film Music Network: http://www.filmmusic.net
Just Plain Folks: http://www.justplainfolks.org
NAMM - The International Music Products Association: http://www.namm.org
MI7: http://www.mi7.com
NARAS (The Grammys): www.grammys.com
Nashville Songwriters Association International: www.nashvillesongwriters.com

Music Promotion Sites
Amie Street: http://www.amiestreet.com
Artist Launch: http://www.artistlaunch.com
Music Submit: http://www.musicsubmit.com
Pure Volume: http://www.purevolume.com
Sonific: http://www.sonific.com
The Tub Magazine: http://www.thetubmagazine.com

Music Storage, Downloads and Sales
Broadjam: http://www.broadjam.com
Musicane: http://www.musicane.com
SongRamp: http://www.songramp.com
Soundclick: http://www.soundclick.com
Website Music Player: http://www.websitemusicplayer.com

Musician Website Hosting
Bandzoogle: http://www.bandzoogle.com
Broadjam: http://www.broadjam.com
Hostbaby: http://hostbaby.com
Indie Kazoo: http://www.indiekazoo.com

Performance Rights Organizations
ASCAP: http://www.ascap.com
Australian Recording Industry Assocation: http://www.aria.com.au
Australian Independent Records Labels AssociationL http://www.air.org.au
Australasian Performing Right Association: http://www.apra.com.au/
BMI: http://bmi.com
SESAC: http://www.sesac.com
MPA: http://www.mpa.org/directories/music_publishers/

Political Representation
Future of Music Coalition: http://www.futureofmusic.org
The American Federation of Musicians: http://www.afm.org

Publications (books, newsletters, magazines, etc.)
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/books
Bandit A & R Newsletter: http://www.banditnewsletter.com
Cashbox Magazine: http://www.cashboxmagazine.com
Kohn on Music Licensing: http://www.kohnmusic.com
KVR Audio: http://www.kvraudio.com
Making Music Make Money by Eric Beall: http://tinyurl.com/2op6tt
Rhymezone: http://www.rhymezone.com/
Songwriter's Hall Of Fame: http://www.songwritershalloffame.org
Songwriter's Market: http://www.songwritersmarket.com
Billboard: http://www.billboard.com

Public Networking Sites
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com
LinkedIN: http://www.linkedin.com
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com

Recording & Demo Services
ColabNation: http://www.collabnation.net
Mike Dunbar Music: http://www.mikedunbarmusic.com
Session Players: http://www.sessionplayers.com
StudioTraxx: http://www.studiotraxx.com
Sub Studio Music: http://www.substudiomusic.com
The Recording Project: http://www.recordingproject.com
Voices123: http://www.voices123.com

Recording Software (recording, editing, production, etc.)
Adobe Auditon: http://www.adobe.com
Adobe Soundbooth: http://www.adobe.com/products/soundbooth
Apple Logic: http://www.apple.com/logicpro
Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net
Sony Creative Software: http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com
Steinberg Cubase: http://www.steinberg.net
Digidesign Protools: http://www.digidesign.com
Peace Love Productions: http://www.peaceloveproductions.com
Real Studio Drums: http://www.realstudiodrums.com
Real World Records: http://www.realworldremixed.com
Smartsoft Audio Format Converter: http://www.smartaudioconverter.com




Brian Austin Whitney
Founder
Just Plain Folks
jpfolkspro@aol.com
Skype: Brian Austin Whitney
Facebook: www.facebook.com/justplainfolks

"Don't sit around and wait for success to come to you... it doesn't know the way." -Brian Austin Whitney

"It's easier to be the bigger man when you actually are..."

[Linked Image]